Sinema to Members: Congress Doesn't Deserve a Raise

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09) urged lawmakers on the House Appropriations Committee to block an automatic pay increase for members of Congress in Fiscal Year 2019.

“Everyday Arizonans know they won’t get a raise if they don’t do their jobs. Congress should be held accountable to the same rules,” said Sinema. “We shouldn’t reward members of Congress for the finger-pointing, fighting, and dysfunction in Washington. It’s time to put country before party and get real results for Arizona families.”

Sinema believes strongly that taxpayer money should not be used to reward members of Congress when they don’t do their jobs. Last year, she worked across the aisle with Congressman Michael McCaul (TX-10) to introduce the No Raise for Congress Act. That bill would permanently end automatic pay raises for members of Congress. She is also a cosponsor of the No Budget No Pay Act, which withholds congressional salaries until Congress passes a budget.

Congresswoman Sinema called for the increase to be blocked in a letter to Appropriations Committee leadership. She was joined by members of Congress from both parties, including Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Bradley Schneider (IL-10), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), and Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05).

A copy of the letter can be found here.


No Raise Letter (03/16/1811:26 AMET )